Preparing for College

Admissions Testing

ACT - Information for Life's Transitions: http://www.act.org

ACT Practice: http://www.actstudent.org/sampletest/index.html

College Board: http://www.collegeboard.com/splash/

SAT Practice: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/sat/prep_one/test.html

SAT Question of the Day: http://apps.collegeboard.com/qotd/question.do

SAT Questions: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/sat/prep_one/critical_reading.html

PSAT/NMSQT: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/psat/about.html

PSAT Practice: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/psat/prep.html

Students & Parents: AP Program: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/ap/about.html

 

College Essay

Writing a College Essay: http://www.lcsedu.net/departments/counseling/preparing-college/college-essay

Essay Skills: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/apply/essay-skills/index.html

College Essay Tips: http://apps.carleton.edu/admissions/counselors/essay/

Writing the Essay: Sound Advice from an Expert: http://www.virginia.edu/undergradadmission/writingtheessay.html

 

Selecting a Major

Academic & Career Information Center: http://www.k-state.edu/acic/

What Can I Do with A major?? http://www.myplan.com/majors/what-to-do-with-a-major.php

 

Paying for College

Financial Aid: http://www.lcsedu.net/departments/counseling/preparing-college/financial-aid

College Board Online Scholarship Search: http://apps.collegeboard.com/cbsearch_ss/welcome.jsp

CSS/Financial Aid PROFILE: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/pay/scholarships-and-aid/8374.html

FAFSA Online: http://www.fafsa.ed.gov

fastWEB: http://www.fastweb.com

FinAid: The Financial Aid Information Page: http://www.finaid.org/

Financial Aid Calculators: http://www.collegeboard.com/student/pay/add-it-up

Funding Your Education: http://studentaid.ed.gov/students/publications/student_guide

Peterson's Pay for School: An Overview: http://www.petersons.com/finaid/file.asp?id=780&path=ug.pfs.financial

Sallie Mae: Student Loan Marketing Association (SLMA): http://www.salliemae.com

Title IV School Code Search: http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/FOTWWebApp/FSLookupServlet

 

Multicultural Interests

American Indian College Fund - Table of Contents: http://www.collegefund.org/

BlackCollegeSearch.com: http://www.blackcollegesearch.com/

 

Student Athlete

NAIA Online: http://naia.cstv.com

National Junior College Athletic Association: http://www.njcaa.org

NCAA Online: http://www.ncaa.org

Sports Scholarships, Athletic Scholarships and Financial Aid for Student Athletes: http://www.finaid.org/otheraid/sports.phtml

Student Athlete Educational Foundation: http://www.chap.com/resources.htm

 

Gifted and Talented Programs

College Planning for Gifted and Talented Youth: http://www.kidsource.com/kidsource/content/college_planning.html

How Can I Help My Gifted Child Plan for College? http://www.kidsource.com/kidsource/content2/Help_My_gifted_child.html

 

Special Needs

College and Career Programs for Deaf Students: http://gri.gallaudet.edu/ccg/

College Planning for Students with Learning Disabilities: http://www.kidsource.com/kidsource/content3/college.planning.LD.html

HEATH: Getting Ready for College: http://www.kidsource.com/Heath/gr.html

Virginia College Quest: http://www.vacollegequest.org/