Employees who have reason to suspect that a child is an abused or neglected child shall report the matter immediately to the principal.
Principals shall report such cases to the child abuse coordinator of the local welfare department as required by law.
For procedures, see division regulation R 5-50.6.
Code of Va., § 63.1-248.3. Physicians, nurses, teachers, e tc., to report certain injuries to children; penalty for failure to report.--"A. . . any teacher or other person employed in a public . . .school . . . who has reason to suspect that a child is an abused or neglected child, shall report the matter immediately, except as hereinafter provided, to the local department of the county or city wherein the child resides or wherein the abuse or neglect is believed to have occurred. If neither locality is known, then such report shall be made to the local department of the county or city where the abuse or neglect was discovered. If an employee of the local department is suspected of abusing or neglecting a child, the report shall be made to the juvenile and domestic relations district court of the county or city where the abuse or neglect was discovered. If the information is received by a teacher, staff member, resident, intern or nurse in the course of professional services in a hospital, school or similar institution, such person may, in place of said report, immediately notify the person in charge of the institution or department, or his designee, who shall make such report forthwith. The initial report may be an oral report but such report shall be reduced to writing by the child abuse coordinator of the local department on a form prescribed by the State Board of Welfare. The person required to make the report shall disclose all information which is the basis for his suspicion of abuse or neglect of the child and, upon request, shall make available to the child-protective services coordinator and the local department investigating the reported case of child abuse or neglect any records or reports which document the basis for the report.
B. Any person required to file a report pursuant to subsection A of this section who fails to do so within seventy-two hours of his first suspicion of child abuse or neglect shall be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and for any subsequent failures not less than $100 nor more than $1,000." (1993)
Code of Va., § 63.1-248.10. Authority to talk to child or sibling.--"Any person required to make a report or investigation pursuant to this chapter may talk to any child suspected of being abused or neglected or to any of his siblings without consent of his parent or guardian." (1986)
Code of Va., § 63.1 -248.17. Cooperation by state entities.--"All law-enforcement departments and other State and local departments, agencies, authorities and institutions shall cooperate with each child-protective services coordinator of a local department and any multi-discipline teams in the detection and prevention of child abuse." (1975)
Editor's Note: See also "Child Abuse and Neglect An Agreement Between the (Virginia) Department of Social Services and the (Virginia) Department of Education" (12/16/88 and 2/8/89).
Adopted by School Board: August 16, 1977