LCS Students Among Area Seniors to Participate in Youth Philanthropy Committee

Cameron Teel and Abigail Wigboldy of E. C. Glass and Sierra Foster and Trent Johnson of Heritage High School were members of this year’s Youth Philanthropy Committee that selected the recipients of this year’s Youth Philanthropy Award.

The Greater Lynchburg Community Trust and Wells Fargo Foundation announced that CASA of Central Virginia was selected as the recipient of the 12th-annual $10,000 Youth Philanthropy Award, and Lynchburg City Schools Education Foundation was selected as the recipient of this year’s $5,000 Youth Philanthropy Award. They were presented during an award ceremony in April.

The awards were selected by a committee of 22 high school seniors representing 11 public high schools located in the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell, and the City of Lynchburg. This committee, along with the adult advisors, met several times during the year and conducted site visits on many of the agencies. Twenty-one grant requests for these awards were submitted. 

This annual program is designed to create awareness in area youth of the importance of philanthropy and service in the community.

Related Content: