Special Education Advisory Committee

The Lynchburg City Schools Special Education Advisory Committee advises the school division about unmet needs in the education of students with disabilities; assists the division in the formulation and development of long range plans designed to provide needed educational services for children with disabilities; participates in the development of priorities and strategies for meeting the identified needs of children eligible for special education; submits periodic reports and recommendations regarding the education of students with disabilities to the Superintendent for transmittal to the school board; and assists the division in interpreting plans to the community for meeting the special needs of children.

The Special Education Advisory Committee meets quarterly. Meetings are open to the public.

School Representative Ending Year
Bass Elementary --- ---
Bedford Hills Elementary Tiffany Ellis (co-chairperson) 2016
Dearington Elementary Murphy-Kinard 2017
Heritage Elementary Ted Jennings 2017
Linkhorne Elementary Kenia Lopez  2017
Paul Munro Elementary Nicole Byrd 2017
Perrymont Elementary Kenya Jefferson 2017
R. S. Payne Elementary Latisha Smith 2017
Sandusky Elementary Tammy Porter 2016
Sheffield Elementary Marisa Briggs 2017
T. C. Miller Elementary Michelle Duncan 2016
Dunbar Middle Karen Bucklew 2017
Linkhorne Middle Renee Maca 2017
Sandusky Middle Stacie Tyree 2017
Hutcherson Early Learning Kim Hibbard 2016
LAUREL Shakima Thomas 2016
E. C. Glass High Ceceilia Reid-Perry 2017
Heritage High Aura Boyle 2017
Past Chair Suzanne Conway  
Community Representative Danielle Englund 2016
Special Education Teacher Rep. Elaine Gaston 2016
Co-Chairperson Sydney Gunn  
Co-Chairperson Tiffany Ellis  
*LCS Consultants Wyllys D. VanDerwerker Director of Exceptional Learners
  Janenne Daniels-Bosher Coordinator of Exceptional Learners
  Amanda Myers-Ramirez Coordinator of Exceptional Learners

SEAC Public Meeting Dates for the 2015-2016 School Year 

Meeting Location: Lynchburg Public Library, 2315 Memorial Avenue
Meeting Time: 6:00-7:30 p.m. (unless noted)

  • Tuesday September 29, 2015
  • Monday October 26, 2015
  • Tuesday March 22, 2016 (location: Linkhorne Middle School Cafeteria)
  • Thursday April 14, 2016 (time: 3:30-4:30 p.m.; location: Linkhorne Middle School Library; SEAC will accept public comment on Federal Set Aside Programming)
  • Tuesday April 26, 2016 (SEAC to consider the 2016-2017 Special Education Annual Plan and application for flow through funds*)
  • Tuesday May 17, 2016 (location: Linkhorne Middle School Cafeteria)

To contact the Special Education Advisory Committee, please contact Mr. Wyllys VanDerwerker or Amanda Myers-Ramirez at (434) 515-5030.

*The Special Education Annual Plan will be available for public review and comment from April 17, 2016 to May 3, 2016 in the Lynchburg Public Library located on Memorial Avenue, the Lynchburg City School Administration Building - Office for Exceptional Learners located on Court Street, and the school website. Citizens may review the plan and offer written comments on the provided forms at any time during this window. In addition, comments may be submitted to: Wyllys VanDerwerker, Director for Exceptional Learners at the following email address: vanderwerkerwd@lcsedu.net