On January 10, 2019, Lynchburg City Schools held our first Community Conversations event, focusing on the areas of Special Education, Family and Community Engagement, Reading, Alternatives to Suspension, and Chronic Absenteeism.

This was the first of many conversations with the community to help develop our LCS Strategic Plan. Please join us as we continue the conversation. Dates, times and locations below:

Continuing the Community Conversations

Special Education

(All special education committees are at 5:30 p.m. in the Linkhorne Middle School Library)

Special Education Student Growth and Development Committee
When: Thursday, February 21 and Thursday, April 4

Special Education Personnel Growth and Development Committee
When: Thursday, March 14 and Thursday, March 28

Special Education Community Engagement Committee
When: Monday, February 25 and Monday, March 25

Family and Community Engagement (FACE)

When: Monday, March 11, 5:30 p.m.
Where: Lynchburg City School Board Room at 915 Court Street

Need to Read

When: Thursday, March 7, 6:00 p.m.
Where: Information Technology Building, 3550 Young Place

Alternatives to Suspension and Chronic Absenteeism

When: Tuesday, March 26, Wednesday, March 27, Tuesday, April 23 and Wednesday, April 24, 5:00 p.m.
Where: Information Technology Building, 3550 Young Place

Previous Conversations in the Community

  • Hosted at Heritage High School, Thursday, January 10, 2019
  • Hosted by Embrace Our Schools, Sunday, October 7, 2018
  • Hosted by Holy Trinity Church, Sunday, October 14, 2018
  • Hosted by The Lynchburg Chapter of the Links, Inc., Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Hosted by The Ramp Church on August 19, 2018
  • Hosted by Diamond Hill Baptist Church on July 18, 2018
  • Hosted by The LCS Education Foundation, Inc., the Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance, LCS Partners in Education, and the Economic Develop Authority of the City of Lynchburg on June 13, 2018