Published on Thu., May 30, 2002

Annual Education Grants Awarded by Education Foundation, Inc.

In a special recognition program and reception held at the Ramada Inn on May 30, 2002, eleven education grants were awarded to Lynchburg City Schools' teachers by the Education Foundation, Inc. The eleven winning grants, with a total budget of $7,500, were selected from forty-one proposals. Priority was given to those grants that demonstrated innovative and effective ways to meet student needs and increase motivation to learn.

The purpose of the education grant program is to provide financial support to exceptional teacher-initiated ideas which are not funded through the schools system's operating budget. To date, the Foundation has awarded over $50,000 in grants since establishing the program ten years ago.

Grant winners, Foundation board members, corporate representatives and special guests enjoyed a reception following presentations by grant winners. After each grant winner or team was recognized and presented a certificate, winners shared highlights about how their grants were used and what was accomplished through their grant project.

Three new grants were added to the Lynchburg City Schools Education Foundation Corporate Sponsored Grant Program for the 2001-2002 school year. WSET, SunTrust and the Retail Merchants Foundation, Inc. sponsored grants and joined the growing number of companies participating in the program.

Remember, is you have a creative idea or program you would like to submit for grant consideration, please see you building principal or call Al Coleman, Director of Professional Development, ext.172 for an application. The deadline for the 2002-2003 school year is September 27, 2002. Good Luck!

2001 – 2002 Education Grant Recipients

George Rainsford Education Grant – $1000
"Trail of Science"
Sandusky Middle School
Linda Huff, Kate McPhatter, April Cash

2001 – 2002 Corporate Grant Winners

Candler Oil Company – $500
"Got Character?"
William Marvin Bass Elementary School
Heather Schoffstall, Karen Mason, Theresa Foss

SunTrust Bank – $500
"Math & More Kits"
Dearington Elementary School for Innovation
Beverly Campbell
Mr. Stuart Fauber, President of SunTrust Bank, presents a $500 grant to Dearington Elementary School for Innovation teacher Beverly Campbell and principal Linda Barnett for their winning proposal, "Math & More Kits."

Adelphia Cablevision – $500
"Destination: Success"
Heritage High School
Susan Stanbery

Legg Mason – $500
"It Happened in the White House"
Sandusky Middle School

BB&T Bank – $500
Perrymont Elementary School
Wendy Pugh, Tiffany Ellis, Bobbie Braun

The News & Advance – $500
"Newspaper in the Classroom"
E.C. Glass High School
Marie Waller

The News & Advance – $500
"News & Advance Our Students"
Sandusky Middle School
Michael Bremer, Betty Morris, Jane Burton

R.R. Donnelley Printing Co. – $1000
"Project Home Track"
Elizabeth Kizer Elementary School
Sue Conner

Lynchburg Retail Merchants Foundation, Inc. – $1000
"Heart Rate Up to Date"
Thomas C. Miller Elementary School for Innovation
Bonnie Craig
Mr. Roland Peters, Secretary and Treasurer of Lynchburg Retail Merchants Foundation, Inc., presents $1000 grant to Thomas C. Miller School for Innovation teacher Bonnie Craig. The winning grant was titled "Heart Rate Up to Date."

WSET – $500
"HES Weather Watchers: Real Data for Real Understanding"
Heritage Elementary School
Beth Jamerson, Nan Ogden, Sandi Redd, Kristin Smith, Peggy Whorley, Tamara Johnson
Mr. Randy Smith, VP & General Manager with WSET, presented winning grant certificate to the Heritage Elementary School team for their grant "HES Weather Watchers: Real Data for Real Understanding."

See Related Content