Published on Wed., May 25, 2005

13th Annual Education Grants Awarded by Education Foundation, Inc.

The annual Lynchburg City Schools Education Foundation Grant Awards program and reception was held on May 25, 2005. Twenty-three corporate sponsored education grant certificates were awarded to Lynchburg City Schools’ teachers by corporate sponsor representatives. The twenty-three winning grants, with a total budget of $18,179, were selected from thirty-four proposals submitted. Priority was given to those grants that demonstrated innovative and effective ways to meet student needs and increase motivation to learn. 

The annual program provides an opportunity for grant winners to make presentations highlighting their program or activity. In addition, Foundation plaques were presented to new corporate sponsors AREVA, BWX Technologies, Jim Martin Pontiac Buick GMC and Dodson Pest Control during the program. To date, the Foundation has awarded over $85,000 in grants since establishing the program thirteen years ago.

George N. Rainsford Grant

Ms. Rosel Schewel Education Foundation, Inc. President, presented the $1000 George N. Rainsford Education Grant to Perrymont Elementary School teachers Courtney Roach, Ruth Erquiaga, and Tracy Proffitt for their winning grant, “ROCK and SOuL.”

Student Scholarships Awarded

This year two $1000 scholarships were awarded to deserving students. 

Heritage High School graduate Ashley Brown will be attending Hampton University in the fall where she plans to major in nursing. 

E. C. Glass High School graduate Carla Napier will be attending George Mason University in the fall were she will be majoring in pharmacy. 

The scholarship program was established by Mrs. Linda Carr, President of Technical and Management Resources, Inc. Scholarships are awarded to students demonstrating outstanding merit, especially in the areas of leadership, scholastic achievement and community involvement.

2004 – 2005 Corporate Grant Winners

Candler Oil Company
“No Strings Attached: Puppet Play the SOL Way”
T.C. Miller Elementary School for Innovation
Barbara Moody, Sharon Bulson, Bonnie Craig

Bank of the James
“Books to Grow On”
R.S. Payne Elementary School
Shannon Horning, Sheree Britton, Gilda Reichert

BB&T Bank
“Digital Narrative”
Heritage High School
Tom Marshall, Sandra Raysor

The News & Advance
“GAIN: Growing Academically is Non-Stop”
Perrymont Elementary School
Karen Nelson, Carla Hamilton, Kathy East, Candy Trent

R.R. Donnelley Printing Co.
“Exploring Family Roots through Art and Culture”
Heritage High School
Douglas Cerzosimo

Lynchburg Retail Merchants Foundation, Inc.
“Living History Project”
Paul Munro Elementary School
Bill Godsey, Barbara Hawks, Alan Little, Page Burke

Lynchburg Retail Merchants Foundation, Inc.
“Writing to Publish: Using a Bookbinder to Showcase Student Writing”
Sandusky Middle School
Patricia Hostutler, Melinda Younger

“Clay for Core”
Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School for Innovation
DeAnna Daniels

Lynchburg Nissan Corporation
“Stairway to the STAR (Spartan Thinking and Reading) and Beyond”
Sandusky Middle School
Melissa Cooper, Susan Cox, Jane Shelton, Judy Worsham

Central Virginia Federal Credit Union
“Looking Good”
E.C. Glass High School
Katherine Webb

Dodson Pest Control
“Let’s Turn Off the TV So We Can…”
Hutcherson Early Learning Center
Janice Wiley, Barbara McKee, Polly Cassady

Jim Martin Pontiac Buick GMC
“History Hits Home”
Perrymont Elementary School
Wendy Pugh

“Bringing the Curriculum Alive with Clay Animation”
Linkhorne Middle School
Rhonda Miller

BWX Technologies
“Applied Air Resistance, Drag, and Friction”
Linkhorne Middle School
Jason Ferguson

BWX Technologies
“Wearing the U.S.A.”
Robert S. Payne Elementary School
Kimberly Beuerle

BWX Technologies
“Wrapping Up the Facts”
Sandusky Elementary School
Sandy Halpin, Erika Wray, Barbara Wickham

BWX Technologies
“Arts Go Digital-Developing Career Skills in the 21st Century”
E. C. Glass High School
Linda Williams, Linda Graham

BWX Technologies
“Style My Ride”
Career Technical Education Program (Glass and Heritage High School)
Susan Cash, Richard Glover

BWX Technologies
“Learning in a Backpack”
T.C. Miller Elementary School for Innovation
Kim Adams, Kathy Hudson, Sarah Lindeman, Courtney Hudson

Jimmie Ping Grant
Legg Mason Funds
SunTrust Bank

“The Business of Business”
Dearington Elementary School for Innovation

Foundation Established Memorial Grant

In recognition of his tireless efforts in support of the Lynchburg City Schools’ Education Foundation, the Foundation Board of Trustees established a new teacher grant in memory of Rev. Haywood Robinson, Jr. Rev. Haywood, one of the original founders of the Lynchburg City Schools Ed Foundation, led the board as chairman for over 19 years. Through his dedicated leadership and vision the Foundation continues its mission of support for the school division. The grant will be available to teachers during the 2005-06 school year. Additionally, a special resolution was passed by the board and presented to Mrs. Alice Robinson.

Three New Corporate Grant Sponsors Announced

Three new corporate sponsors will be joining the teacher grant program during the 2005-06 school year. R. M. Gantt Construction and Lynchburg Municipal Employees Federal Credit Union and will each be sponsoring a $500 grant. Wal-Mart, a major contributor to the Foundation’s Crayons to Computers teacher warehouse program, will be sponsoring two $500 grants. These added grants will help the Education Foundation meet the growing request from teachers and schools for funds to implement innovative and creative instructional ideas. 

See Related Content