Published on Thu., June 2, 2016

The Lynchburg City Schools Education Foundation, Inc. is pleased to announce that $45,000 in sponsored scholarship money was awarded to 16 students to be applied to their college education. Scholarships were awarded to the following Lynchburg City Schools students:

Belvac Production Machinery awarded two $500 scholarships recognizing leadership, scholastic achievement, community involvement, and ability to overcome personal, family, or other circumstantial obstacles: Chyna Alexus Brown (Heritage), Jackson M. Miller (E. C. Glass)

Excellence In Science awarded $25,000 to one student who will receive an advanced studies high school diploma, possessed a GPA of 3.8 or higher, and is planning to enter a science-related field: Zachry Martin (E. C. Glass)

Fees Engineering Scholarship awarded an estimated $10,000 scholarship provided for an E. C. Glass Senior who will attend CVCC for two years in the Engineering Technology program.  The scholarship will cover tuition, books, and fees. It is renewable based on maintaining a 3.0 GPA: Dylan Scott Worsham (E.C. Glass)

Greater Lynchburg Community Trust awarded two $500 scholarships to students recognizing scholastic achievement and community involvement: Samuel Garland LeFew (E. C. Glass), Trevon J. McCargo (Heritage)

James Howard Scholarship awarded one $500 scholarship to a Heritage High School college bound football player as selected by his coach: Landon Ferrell (Heritage)

Lynchburg Junior Woman’s Club Scholarship awarded two $1,000 scholarships to two students who plan to continue their education at an accredited college, university, or vocational training program and who has demonstrated a very strong commitment to community service: Sarah Phillips (E. C. Glass), Taylor Tsoleas (E. C. Glass)

Orthodontic Arts Scholarship awarded one $500 scholarship to a Heritage student who plans to advance their education in a field of nursing, dentistry, or medicine: Jamelia Wilkerson (Heritage)

Al Stroobants Foundation awarded two $1,000 scholarships to students who are pursuing their education in the trades: Jason Bateman (Heritage), Anthony Lee Johnson, Jr. (Heritage)

Taylor Brothers of Lynchburg awarded two $500 scholarships to students who achieved excellence in scholarship and community service: Olivia Baker (E. C. Glass), Taj McRath (Heritage)

Technical Management Resources awarded two $1,000 scholarships recognizing leadership, scholastic achievement, and community involvement for African American students: Javon Calloway (Heritage), Alex Dargie Gubay (E. C. Glass)

Congratulations to these students and sincere appreciation is extended to the scholarship sponsors. For more information contact Jodi Gillette, Executive Director at 515-5081 or

See Related Content